Justice Department Announces Piguet Galland & Cie SA Reaches Resolution under Swiss Bank Program

The Department of Justice announced today that Piguet Galland & Cie SA (Piguet Galland) has reached a resolution under the department’s Swiss Bank Program. Piguet Galland will pay a penalty of more than $15 million and continue to cooperate with the department.

“With each agreement signed under the Swiss Bank Program, we gain a deeper understanding of the historical patterns and practices of entities and individuals around the world facilitating U.S. tax evasion,” said Acting Assistant Attorney General Caroline D. Ciraolo of the Justice Department’s Tax Division. “We are analyzing the information received, pursuing investigations, and remain committed to holding those involved accountable through both civil and criminal enforcement efforts.”

The Swiss Bank Program, which was announced on Aug. 29, 2013, provides a path for Swiss banks to resolve potential criminal liabilities in the United States. Swiss banks eligible to enter the program were required to advise the department by Dec. 31, 2013, that they had reason to believe that they had committed tax-related criminal offenses in connection with undeclared U.S.-related accounts. Banks already under criminal investigation related to their Swiss-banking activities and all individuals were expressly excluded from the program.

Under the program, banks are required to:

  • Make a complete disclosure of their cross-border activities;
  • Provide detailed information on an account-by-account basis for accounts in which U.S. taxpayers have a direct or indirect interest;
  • Cooperate in treaty requests for account information;
  • Provide detailed information as to other banks that transferred funds into secret accounts or that accepted funds when secret accounts were closed;
  • Agree to close accounts of accountholders who fail to come into compliance with U.S. reporting obligations; and
  • Pay appropriate penalties.

Swiss banks meeting all of the above requirements are eligible for a non-prosecution agreement.

Click here for complete Justice Department Announcement.


Comments are closed.